top of page
  • Writer's picture LeagueCityAnimalShelter

LCAS Volunteer Spotlight- August

Updated: Oct 1, 2019

Meet the PetSmart Team! This team gets our animals out there to public to be see and of course hopefully adopted. The work hard every weekend to show our animals and find them homes.






 

MEET MELISSA AND JASON HARAHAN



Hobbies: I enjoy volunteering for the Houston Rodeo for 21 years and being on the Special Children's Committee. I also enjoy riding horses, reading, movies, and mostly helping animals all my life.

Something interesting about you? I use to ride Thoroughbred Race Horses, I was a jockey in Kentucky. I worked in the Pipe Valve and Fitting business in Houston. I also was a caregiver.

Why did you start volunteering for LCAS? I worked with League City Animal Shelter in 2013 when I was on the board with Muttley Love Animal Rescue. I started working with FLCAS/LCPA in 2014 and Monica wanted me to run the adoptions at PetSmart League City. I also worked with the shelter on their foster program and community events since 2014.

What is your favorite part about volunteering for PetSmart League City location? My favorite part about Volunteering at Petsmart. Well it is about giving our Animals from the Shelter another Venue to be shown in a Pet-friendly enviroment. We get a wide variety of people. Which gives our animals many additional chances to be seen by many surrounding communities at Petsmart.



 

MEET KRISTA BRADLEY


Hobbies: Hiking, reading and relaxing. I've been an avid walker for over 3o years

Something interesting about you? I work as a processing analyst for a chemical company and get to work with a great team around the world.

Why did you start volunteering for LCAS? Volunteering at a shelter is something I've always wanted to do. I found LCPA online when we moved to the area and was hooked immediately.

What is your favorite part about volunteering for PetSmart League City location? I enjoy the PetSmart team and fidning the animals a home. Seeing the animals enjoy a day out is often my favorite part.


 

MEET DELIA ROSE




Hobbies: I read a lot, always have.

Something interesting about you? I've been to Hawaii, Germany, Switzerland as well as other states. Been bear watching in Alaska.

Why did you start volunteering for LCAS? I was volunteering in Escondido, CA for the Humane Society before moving here. Fell in love with cats when my husband found Ally as a kitten at an airport he was at. He brought her home and it was love at first site.

What is your favorite part about volunteering for PetSmart League City location? PetSmart gives the animals we bring some time away from the shelter. People stop by all day even if they are not looking to adopt and interact with them. We get to talk about LCAS and what we do.


 

MEET SHARON RECHKEMMER



Hobbies: Camping, traveling, hiking, trying to hit all national parks in US! Reading to relax

Something interesting about you? I worked for 25 years at Kennedy space center in Florida for the shuttle program in engineering. People say what’s your dream job.. that was it!

Why did you start volunteering for LCAS? I started when we moved to Texas for two reasons. I love animals and to meet new friends. LCAS has the best volunteers around.

What is your favorite part about volunteering for PetSmart League City location? I love volunteering at PetSmart and meeting the people interested in adoption and see how happy they are when we match them with a pet.. makes me happy to see our animals adopted.


 

MEET SHARON MCHENRY



Hobbies: My hobbies are exercising, redecorating my home, and reading.

Something interesting about you? Some interesting things about me are, I have worked for Clear Creek ISD for over 24 years, I am a big HGTV junkie.

Why did you start volunteering for LCAS? I started volunteering at LCAS because I love animals and wanted to do something to help homeless animals.

What is your favorite part about volunteering for PetSmart League City location? My favorite parts of volunteering at PetSmart are helping animals find their forever homes, and I also enjoy working with all the other LCAS volunteers. We all want what is best for the animals.


 

MEET KELLY O'GRADY DORSEY



Hobbies: I have 1 son, a wonderful daughter in law with 2 precious little granddaughters that I love spending time with. My family is very close, I have 3 sisters and an amazing mother. I enjoy traveling to Florida and Colorado at least once a year.

Something interesting about you? I have never watched Game of Thrones or walking dead.

Why did you start volunteering for LCAS? I started volunteering in early 2015 after seeing the volunteer post on the LCAS website.

What is your favorite part about volunteering for PetSmart League City location? I love transporting animals to PetSmart and doing adoption in League City because I'm a natural born salesperson. I can sell a bald man a comb.


 


96 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page