top of page
  • Writer's picture LeagueCityAnimalShelter

LCAS Volunteer Spotlight- July

Updated: Oct 1, 2019

Meet the Social Media Team! This amazing group of women work tirelessly to market our shelter babies to help find them a "fur-ever" home.



Photo by Susan Bauman

 

MEET JENNIFER EMKE SCHMIDT



Hobbies: Traveling, Shopping, Staying Active and spending time with my family.

Something Interesting About You? I grew up fostering puppies with my family. These days though, I'm a sucker for senior dogs. I think there's something so rewarding and heartfelt for fostering and adopting senior dogs.

Why did you start volunteering for LCAS? My husband and I had spent several years fostering dogs for some Houston rescues, but decided it was time for a break and focus on starting a family (and our own two senior dogs). I still wanted to make a difference and needed to get involved in a way other than fostering.

What is your favorite part about volunteering and writing dog bios? I love that I can still make an impact even though I'm not physically at the shelter. It proves that even when you think you don't have time, there's probably something you can still do to help. I think more people need to realize that. I also love going back and seeing who has been adopted or fostered. I still feel connected to the dogs (especially since I write bios from their point of view) even though I've usually never even met them.


 

MEET SUSAN BAUMAN



Hobbies: Networking homeless cats, photography, birdwatching, working out, hiking especially in National Parks.

Something interesting about you? I have a Thursday gig leading residents at a memory care facility in singing church hymns.

Why did I start volunteering at LCAS? I saw an article in a local paper about needing volunteers for a store front adoption center the shelter had twice a week.

What is your favorite part about volunteering LCAS? For me, the best thing about volunteering is working with the under socialized cats to help them become adopted. I recently started clicker training with the cats and most cats love it. It also helps greatly with the socialization process. Social media is a fantastic way to get animals quickly marketed to a wide audience. The power of a good photo and interesting description is priceless in getting animals noticed and adopted.


 

MEET RHONDA TIPTON



Hobbies: Photography, dogs (and cats), animals in general. Scary/sci-fi movies, hiking and starting to get interested in rockhounding.

Something interesting about you? We currently have land in the desert of Central Arizona and will be transitioning out there over the next few years. We also have plans to build out a van and travel during the summers. While in Arizona and traveling, I plan to continue to help shelters and rescues by photographing their homeless babies. As of this passed Saturday I already have a possible rescue to help in the town where our property is.

Why did you start volunteering for LCAS? I saw a plea from Triumphant Tails for people to go volunteer for League City Animal Shelter back in 2013. I just love dogs and cats in general.

What is your favorite part about volunteering for LCAS? It is fulfilling to know you help the homeless babies get into loving homes.


 

Photo by Rhonda Tipton


86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page