top of page
  • Writer's picture LeagueCityAnimalShelter

LCAS Volunteer Spotlight- September

Updated: Oct 1, 2019

Meet two of our amazing LCAS volunteers Gwyn Baker and Jim Nelson! Both Gwyn and Jim are dedicated volunteers that have moved up quickly in the LCAS Volunteer Program. Read more to learn more about your co-volunteers.



Picture Taken by Gwyn Baker

 

MEET GWYN BAKER



Hobbies: Reading and audiobooks (psychological thrillers), traveling (favorite trips were to Alaska and the Florida Keys), jigsaw puzzles, chauffering my 15 year old daughter.

Something interesting about you? On my bucket list is a cruise around the Gallopagos.  

Why did you start volunteering for LCAS? Because our daughter begged relentlessly, we recently got our first dog - a mini poodle mix from the Houston Humane Society.  Milo is a great dog, but I'm more of a cat person.  I volunteer as a Feline Friend so I can get my cat fix!

What is your favorite part about being a Feline Friend for LCAS? Engaging with the cats and discovering their amazing, unique personalities!  But also, getting to know other volunteers and staff who have such big hearts and do so much for the animals.



 

MEET JIM NELSON




Hobbies: Shooting sports, playing drums, and cycling.

Something interesting about you? I finished the MS 150 this year. Actually looking forward to trying again next year.  

Why did you start volunteering for LCAS? I think I originally started so I could plays with all the pups.  Now I want to help teach them some manners.  Get them some homes so others can enjoy them.

What is your favorite part about being a Canine Companion for LCAS? Ah, when I can get one of these guys to actually look at me :)   Really, I guess it would be when I can't find (insert shelter dog's name) because they have been adopted.

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page